Skip to content

The Sustainable MBA

July 14, 2011

I have spent the last two years studying sustainability at the Presidio Graduate School.  The program fully integrates traditional business subjects with sustainability in a holistic approach.  For instance, accounting includes the analysis of corporate social responsibility reports as well as financial data and economics looks at the un-priced costs of negative externalities such as industrial pollution and the distortion of our economy by a GDP which encourages unrestricted growth and includes the cost of cleaning up Superfund pollution sites as productive spending.

My background in construction and the water industry led me to initially focus on green building.  During my exploration of capital markets I became passionate about Impact Investing and Social Capital Markets.  I worked with Inner City Advisors which furthered my excitement as I met many of the mission driven entrepreneurs creating thriving businesses in the Bay Area.

My time at Presidio completely shifted my focus and my outlook on the world.  I can no longer stand on the sidelines when issues I am aware of need attention.  I can only call it a transformational education process.

No comments yet

Leave a comment